Tips and Tricks to being a better human: drink more water

I always tell myself that I would never go back to my high school years again, and really I never would. But, if I had to I’d have a ton of advice to give myself. I’ve named this series tips and tricks to being a better human and all the content I put on here is what I would have told my younger, angstier, more dramatic 14-18 year old self.

Why drink more water? Water is different than other liquid. It’s pure. It’s from a freakin’ cloud. Everything about water is set up for our bodies (considering our bodies are made up of 60% of it). Our bodies have these awesome little filtering systems, you know, the liver and the kidneys, that get rid of pesky little impurities that get in our blood (from just living). So water works with our kidneys, in particular, and filters out all the yucky gross stuff from our blood so that our blood can be cleaned and used again. It’s an amazing process really.

I myself tend to not get a gold star on this one. I give myself excuse after excuse, the main one being this: I hate having to go to the bathroom 10 times a day. But that’s really not a good excuse, because most of us live/work/recreate around places that have bathrooms. Plus going to the bathroom umpteen times a day is actually really good for your body. It’s like a natural detox (you don’t need a juice cleanse, I promise).

Tips for drinking more water:

  1. Bring a water bottle. I don’t care if it’s a plastic Crystal Geyser throw away or a Nalgene. Heck, I personally use the free one I got on my first day of work at my last job. It chills in my backpack, keeps me going in my water bottle cage on my bicycle, and it makes frequent trips with me up to Portland. It’s dinged, dented and fading, but it gets the job done. Now I realize that having a water bottle along doesn’t mean you’ll drink it but I guarantee two things: 1) you’ll drink water more frequently and 2) you’ll never regret having it just in case. Bring a water bottle.
  2. Get over your phobia of the public bathroom. Wear clothes that can go up and down – by that I mean, if you wear an outfit that is hard to get on and off, you won’t let yourself drink as much. Remember how important hydration is when picking out your clothes!  Also be sure to wash your hands thoroughly. And if you’re really paranoid, follow it up with a hand santizing sesh.
  3. Make a goal. Having a reasonable goal always helps you get farther than if you didn’t set one. Buy or make a fun calendar where you can mark off how many cups you have per day. Whether or not you mark all of them, you’re probably still drinking more than if you didn’t have the goal or the calendar. Plus it’s always fun to mark something off a list. Another good idea is to buy a 32 or 64 ounce container (like a pitcher). Make it a goal to drink the entire thing (if it’s a 64 ouncer) or 2 of them (if it’s 32) by the end of the day.
  4. Start small. If you currently don’t drink much water but want to improve make small goals like drinking one 32 ounce water bottle or having a glass of water with every meal. The point is to drink more water and sometimes having a huge goal is overwhelming and won’t help us in the least.

And just to add a little more personal bathroom grossness: always check the color of your urine. If it resembles gold or dark yellow in anyway DRINK MORE WATER. It should be more the color of light lemonade, if not completely clear. And if it’s cloudy, see a doctor.!

One thought on “Tips and Tricks to being a better human: drink more water

Leave a Reply

