Loaded Oaty Oatmeal cookies

So I found ants in my spare dresser this morning. Which is a really weird place to find ants, I might add. I found the source of the problem (it was a makeup drawer with a sticky spot so I’m guessing that was some sort of perfume remnant- whatever it was the ants loved it) and hopefully took care of it, but it’s still gross and creepy. When I first moved to Oregon I lived with my sister and her family in Eugene and that winter/spring there were ants in our kitchen. Then the next winter/spring I was living with a friend of mine in a new house and we got ants in our kitchen as well. They are so icky and I always get the creepy crawly’s whenever I know they’re in my house. I have had one too many run-ins with the little buggers and it’s getting real old real quick. I never knew Oregon was so anty. Grrrr!!

Now on to the point of this post: cookies. Really really good, somewhat healthy (just stare at the applesauce, oats and lack of salt in these babies and not the sugar content), loaded with goodness (chocolate, cranberries, walnuts, coconut, basically it’s a choose your own adventure recipe) oatmeal cookies.

I love oatmeal cookies. They are possibly my favorite kind of cookie. But I don’t like when you eat an oatmeal cookie and you can’t tell that it has oatmeal in it. The oats are one of my favorite parts. So the other day I searched to find the perfect oaty oatmeal chocolate chip cookie and I found one that I liked and I adapted it to my preferences and I like it even more. It uses home ground oat flour, which with the new toy is lots of fun.

IMG_2164

Here’s my version:

Loaded Oaty Oatmeal cookies:
1 cup applesauce
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
3 eggs well beaten
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups oats
4 cups oat flour (5 cups of oats ground to dust in your food processor or you can buy oat flour)
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp corn starch
1/2 cup chocolate chips (up to 2 cups if it’s your only add-in)
1/2 cup dried cranberries (optional)
1/2 cup coconut (we use the kind without added sugar, but it’s not a requirement) (optional)
1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

Cream applesauce and sugars. Add the beaten eggs and vanilla and mix together. In a separate bowl combine oats, oat flour, baking soda and corn starch, mix thoroughly. Add the dry mixture to the wet and combine well. Put your add-ins in. You can refrigerate your dough for 24 hours but I didn’t and they turned out fantastic, so choose your own adventure.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. If you have a sticky non-stick pan like I do, feel free to Pam it up. If your pan is for reals non-stick then don’t worry about it. Add medium sized scoops of dough to your cookie sheet (this varies by person, neither you nor I will care what size they really are). Bake for 10-12 minutes or until tops get golden-ish. They might be doughy so test your first batch and adjust accordingly. Eat immediately or whenever you feel like it. I always recommend a cold glass of milk to go with.

And in case you’re worried that these are dense or not flavorful or too healthy to be good- fear not. They are amazing and moist and delicious. Plus you can always add whatever mix-ins make you feel good, which is always fun.

Leave a Reply

