Green Monster Pizza

IMG_2238So sometimes my eating habits look like a teenagers. I.e. one of my favorite foods is pizza. But I’m a future dietitian and with that comes a certain desire to change the world. And by that I mean change delicious food into more nutritious and still delicious food. Enter the Elzinga green veggie pizza. Last summer I worked for a cooking/gardening summer camp for kids where we taught kids, you guessed it, cooking and gardening. Every week we made at least 1 form of pizza (thank you Healthy Youth Program). That’s where I learned that broccoli and kale are perfect on pizza (and potatoes, but they don’t make an appearance here). That’s also where I learned the perfect easy recipe for pizza sauce.

Now I know that kale might seem a little too healthy (aka, not delicious) but I swear it gets super crispy and absolutely perfect. And I get that broccoli might not be the same as sausage and I’m not saying every pizza should have it, but it does offer a fun little crunch and tons of color. I swear this pizza is delicious. I swear my husband and I can eat almost 2 of them without a problem. Just give it a try. I promise you’ll like it.

IMG_2230 Green Monster Pizza

Pick you favorite whole wheat pizza crust

For the sauce:
1 eight oz. can no salt added tomato sauce
1 tbsp italian seasonings

Mix together. This makes sauce for two pizzas

For each pizza:
2 cups mozzarella cheese
2 cups chopped up kale
1 1/2 cups chopped up broccoli florets
Optional: green pepper cut in shreds
Optional: red pepper flakes

Preheat oven to 400 degree F. Divide pizza dough into half and sprinkle counter with flour. Roll out one half of your dough to fit your pan (I use a pizza pan but a cookie sheet would do just fine). If your crust is nonstick don’t spray, but if it’s not very nonstick spray the heck out of it. Place pizza dough on pan cook in oven for 5 minutes. Remove pizza from oven and add half of your sauce to each pizza (if making two) and apply to the outer edges of the crust. Add cheese evenly. After you’ve rinsed and chopped your veg add it to your pizza however you like. Bake pizza for 7-10 minutes or until crust is cooked through and cheese is melted (This varies with ovens). If you desire you can put the second batch of dough and sauce in the fridge for up to one week. You can also freeze the sauce if you aren’t using it anytime soon. I’ve never tried to the dough so I’m not sure on that one.

What other fun ingredients do you put on your pizza?

Leave a Reply

