Sugar-free loaded banana ice cream

IMG_2243

T and I are going through 30 days of no added sugar. I’m a sugar addict and I felt like I needed to ween myself off so T agreed to go along with my plan of no added sugar. We’re three weeks in and the struggle is real.  I was hoping for one of those awesome stories where I could say that the first few days were hard but now I’m totally fine without sugar. But I’d be lying if I said that. I haven’t even had to be completely off it. A friend took me out to fro-yo on Tuesday (I couldn’t be rude and say no, plus I really didn’t want to), then in my food service class we have to try everything everyone makes once a week and there are two dessert items that are made. So technically I haven’t been TOTALLY off it. But it’s still been difficult for me.

I told you, I’m a sugar addict. I sneak fistfuls of chocolate chips out of the cupboard on a daily basis (okay, okay, it’s more than once per day). But two weeks into our no sugar T (who has been completely awesome and only had some white bread at a business lunch once) needed something sweetish. He’s had to give up Orowheat bread (1 gram added sugar per slice) and jelly (let’s be honest, that’s mostly sugar) for his PBJ’s so I felt for him. So last week I whipped up this banana ice cream creation and we’re now eating it fairly regularly. It helps us feel like we still get a little treat now and then.

IMG_2242

Sugar-free loaded banana ice-cream

2 frozen bananas
2 tbsp milk
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tbsp no sugar added coconut
small handful Almonds (any nut will do, but it adds a really fun crunch)
3 tbsp creamy peanut butter (we use homemade, which has no added sugar)

Throw all your ingredients in your food processor or blender. Pulse everything on and off until the bananas have broken up a bit. Once everything has gotten down to a better size put your food processor/blender on a normal setting (we use 2 for ice cream) and process until smooth, creamy, dreamy and delicious.

Serves 2

I think it tastes like Rocky Road ice cream without the marshmallows. It’s really yummy.

IMG_2249

Leave a Reply

