African Peanut Soup

IMG_2253

When I started at Oregon State University I saw an advertisement for healthy cooking classes offered by the Moore Family Center (Bob’s Red Mill is the sponsor). It was being put on by the Nutrition and Dietetics Club (of which I am a member) and I thought it would be a good way to get my foot in the dietetics door. I signed up for the classes and had a blast. I vowed that if I ever could I would volunteer there as an instructor. A few weeks ago the stars aligned and the healthy cooking classes needed an instructor AND my schedule allowed for it. So I immediately emailed the coordinator and asked to be considered. My first cooking class was a blast. We made this soup (below) and it was SOOOOOOOOOOO good. Like, amazing. And I vowed to make it at home. Last night I kept my vow and made some of this deliciousness. Then I tried taking pictures of it and the pictures bombed. super hard. I took like 17 shots and only two turned out semi okay. The two you see here. Apparently I should take photos before 7:00pm because if I don’t then everything looks like orange blurs. That’s not cute. But I still got a few shots and that’s good enough.

IMG_2268

African Peanut Soup

1 tbsp oil
2 tbsp’s ginger, grated
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
32 ounces unsalted vegetable stock
1 medium yam, peeled and cubed
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (again, we always use homemade)
1 15-ounce can diced tomatoes, undrained (I’m not sure I’d add this one next time)
1 15-ounce can pumpkin puree (we used homemade which was about 2 cups)
1 red bell pepper, diced
2 cups kale, finely chopped

In a large stockpot cook onion, ginger, garlic and jalapeno in oil on medium heat, stirring until the onion is translucent and soft. Add broth and yam (you can also use a sweet potato). Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and cook until yams are soft (about 10 minutes). Stir in peanut butter, tomatoes and pumpkin puree. Mix well. Add red pepper and kale. Simmer for about 10 minutes or until pepper is tender. Then eat! Because it’s yummy.

I hope you try it and I hope you LOVE it. It’s delicious. Plus the name is pretty legit and fun and will impress your friends if you make it. Promise.

Leave a Reply

