Waffles without sugar!

IMG_2275

So I mentioned before that we’re going sugar free for 30 days. So I’m trying to come up with alternate ways to still have what we love but eliminate the added sugar. See, I feel sort of like an awful wife for eliminating sugar from my mans diet so I worry about how to make it up to him. Last night I might have dreamed about how to eliminate added sugar as much as possible. It got a little overwhelming. But I had some fun ideas. Like these waffles. Okay, lets be real. My idea was to convert a recipe I found and make it sugar free and fun. So I converted this recipe and I kind like it.

IMG_2272

Whole wheat sugar free waffles

1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
1/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup milk
1 cup Oikos triple zero vanilla yogurt (the extra sugar is from chickory root which also adds 10 grams of fiber, so it’s acceptable)
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 medium ripe banana, mashed
3 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce

Heat up your waffle iron and spray with Pam. Combine dry ingredients together. Then add all wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix well. Cook according to your waffle irons directions. Serve with peanut butter or fruit compote. Ours made 6 waffles and we froze the extra.

Leave a Reply

