The best homemade salsa

Salsa is delicious. I feel like that sums up everything I can say without being wordy so we’ll leave it at that.

When we purchased our food processor I searched high and low for the perfect salsa. Yet I couldn’t find it via any of my normal sites (pinterest). So I tried out my own versions and after some trial and error (thankfully it was delicious trial and error…most of the time) I figured out the secret to success. And I’m here to share. Because I’m nothing if not generous ;).

2015-05-28 08.35.06
Truly Homemade salsa:

5-6 vine tomatoes (really the more tomatoes the better) – chopped into large chunks
1 green pepper- chopped into large chunks
1 Jalapeno (seed if you want)
3 -4 cloves garlic
1-2 tbsp. onion
1 bunch cilantro- cleaned and chopped without stems
Juice of 1 lime (or lemon – it doesn’t have to be fresh)
Optional:
1 tsp cumin
a few splashes of red wine vinegar

Add ingredients to food processor and pulse until everything is finely shredded. Heat in a medium-sized saucepan on medium/medium-high heat for about 50 minutes (or until most of the water boils off and entire mixture turns a deeper color).

We put ours in a wide mouthed mason jar and, because we’re salsa hounds, it doesn’t usually last more than a week (but it can survive longer in the fridge than that).


2015-05-28 09.36.40

Leave a Reply

